Lighted Path

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.  ~Psalm 119:105 

We changed the light bulbs in the living room, from fluorescent daylight to soft white ones.  (They aren’t white, by the way; they have a dull, orange glow.)  My son, Chase, complains every time I flip them on, even threatening to leave the room if we don’t switch them back or turn them off altogether.

He has Asperger’s Syndrome, which makes him hyper-aware (and hyper-obsessive and critical) of light, taste, color, scent, sound, texture… But that’s also what makes him unique, and I love him for his view of the world.

And I understand him because I, too, am hyper-aware and obsessive about everything.  And, yes, I have a slight [ahem] tendency to lean toward negativity and criticism.

When we were kids, my brother would regularly call me a pessimist.  He once gave me a book called “14,000 Things To Be Happy About.”  You know what? That just pissed me off.

Things have changed the longer I’ve walked with Jesus.  It didn’t happen overnight, but my hyper-awareness of the world has slowly been redirected from gloom and doom toward the wonder of God…not completely, but hey, I’m a work-in-progress. (Philippians 4:8)

So more and more, rather than fixating on the “dull orange glow,” I focus on the pure white Light of God’s presence.  I’m acutely aware and grateful of His hand all over my life! 

I see His love, wisdom, and truth everywhere… in the beauty of His creation, in His enduring Word, and through the people sharing life with me. 

When I seek Him, He is there.  Always.  So I try to always seek Him. (Jeremiah 29:13

Growing in this truth and comfort, I’ve come to know an important lesson, one which I hope my son learns as he walks with Christ:  With eyes on Jesus, dreary circumstances don’t have to distract us, define us, or defeat us; we can choose to walk the Lighted Path! 

And we don’t have to change the light bulb, just our focus.

Leave a Reply

